ALOHA BOOKS INAUGURAL EVENT was held @ PAUOA ELEMENTARY SCHOOL on AUGUST 10, 2018.  Ohana100’s newest project gifted a free new book to kindergartners at charter and public schools throughout the State of Hawaii. It also provided books to children in Head Start and social services programs throughout the state.

We dedicated the Aloha Books Project in remembrance of Senator Daniel Akaka who was an educator, a proud public servant and our grandfather. He believed strongly in the importance of literacy and the value of a good education.


Mahalo to all our partners and volunteers who worked very hard to process and deliver Aloha Books to children across the State of Hawaii.   

Mahalo to our friends at Simon & Schuster for believing in our literacy mission! Mahalo to Grant Kogami - HCAP for donating space to house and process the 20,000 Aloha Books. Mahalo to Dale Arakaki and all Pahoa Staff for hosting our 1st Aloha Books Kick-off Event. Thanks to Walmart stores for transporting books to the neighbor islands. Mahalo to Heinz and Joe for flying books to Maui. Mahalo to host sites Stacy Brown -Family Support Hawaii on the Big Island, Jason Yoshida - King Kaumualii EL on Kauai and Rosa Stone - Lihikai EL on Maui who provided support and deliveries of books on the ground in the neighbor islands.

Mahalo to our Ohana100 Team! Mary Akaka, Gabrielle Alo, Cody Ancheta, Esmenio & Roselily Andres, Dale Arakaki, Stacy Brown, Lynn Cabato, Theresia Charley, Frenchie Coffinet-Smith, Heinz deCouet, Heidi Fowler, Christy Furukawa, Tiana Ganiko, Lena Goto, HCAP Staff, Bryan & Charmaine Ilar, Beth Ismail, Sheena Juliano, Joe Kiefer, Grant Kogami, Tiare Lando, Rose Leong, Catherine Mattson, Courtney Mattson, David Mattson Sr., Aaron Mahi, Patricia Munoz, Stephanie Okabe, Patricia Oshiro, PAUOA EL Faculty, Staff & Parents, Lyra Panarigan, Julian Ramirez, Karen Scharfenstein, Victoria Soriano, Rosa Stone, Sandra Taga, Lois Tagami, Curren Tagami, Karen Tengan, Kayla Ueshiro, Walmart Stores- Hilo, Kona, Maui & Kauai, Jason Yoshida, Alyssa Young, Natalie Young & Yasmine Young.